CNRS Gold Medal 2020: announcement on 10 September at 11am (Paris Time)

    -     Français

The name of the CNRS Gold Medal laureate for 2020 will be revealed on Th ursday 10 September at 11am, live on the CNRS website and Twitter account .

The CNRS Gold Medal is one of the most prestigious French scientific awards. Since its creation in 1954, it has been awarded every year to a scientist who has made an exceptional contribution to the dynamism and influence of French research.

This honour is decided by the CNRS Executive Board, lead by Antoine Petit, CNRS President and CEO. The winner is chosen from among the nominations submitted by each of the ten CNRS scientific institutes.

The most recent laureates of the CNRS Gold Medal are:

  • Thomas Ebbesen, physical chemist, in 2019;
  • Barbara Cassin, philosopher, in 2018;
  • Alain Brillet and Thibault Damour, physicists, in 2017;
  • Claire Voisin, mathematician, in 2016;
  • Eric Karsenti, biologist, in 2015;
  • Gérard Berry, computer scientist, in 2014;
  • Margaret Buckingham, development biologist, in 2013;
  • Philippe Descola, anthropologist, in 2012 ;
  • Jules Hoffmann, biologist, in 2011.

Find all the CNRS Gold Medal laureates here.

This site uses cookies and analysis tools to improve the usability of the site. More information. |